Rad Reading- November!

For this month’s reading, I read Five Feet Apart by Racheal Lippincott, Mikki Daughtry, and Tobias Laconis. This story is about a boy and a girl who have a lung disease, (Stella has CF and Will has B. Cepacia) and they begin to fall in love despite the fact that they could never be near each other. As they get further and further into their relationship, they begin to bend the rules a little bit- 5 feet wouldn’t hurt anyone, right?

I recommend reading this book because it has lots of details all about the lives of the characters through their eyes. All of the characters feel like they are living right besides you because they feel so real and one can easily relate to all of their feelings that they are going through in that moment of time in the story. They don’t have something that they both really want (each other), which I think most people can relate to at some point in their lives.

My favorite character is Will. I really like this character because he is helpful to others and never let his friends and family down. One of his character traits is caring. According to the author, “I watch as he shivers, coughing, his body is swaying as he starts to collapse. Every single breath is a struggle, and I watch as he gasps for air, trying desperately as he try’s to fill his lungs. And every breath he gets, he gives to me.” (Page 242) This quote demonstrates this character trait because he is sacrificing his own lungs, health, and life for Stella. In other words, he is giving everything he has to Stella.

My favorite quote from Five Feet Apart is “I push every bit of air in my body into her lungs, collapsing on top of her, no idea if it was enough, hearing the sirens of the ambulance I called blare in the distance. Water trickles over my head as my hand finds hers and I finally let the darkness consume me.” (Page 245) This is my favorite quote from the story because it really sums up all of the messages of overall kindness and that other good people are the most powerful and essential parts of our lives. Without them, who would we be?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *